Welcome to Reception

Welcome to Reception. In Reception we base our learning on the children’s interests and ideas. The children develop their learning through continuous provision based on the seven areas of learning (taken from the Development Matters Framework).

The seven areas of learning are split into three prime and four specific and are as follows,

Prime Areas

  • Personal, Social and Emotional Development

  • Communication and Language

  • Physical Development

         Specific Areas

  • Literacy

  • Numeracy

  • Understanding the World

  • Expressive Arts and Design

Some of the topics we have already explored this year are

  • Harry and the Bucketful of Dinosaurs

  • Pirates

  • Bears

  • Sea creatures

  • Christmas

Children are free to learn both inside and outside the classroom with full provision accessible at all times.

Summer 1

Spring 2


Spring 1

Autumn 2

Autumn 1 2014-2015

Click here to enlarge