Phonics at Devonshire Primary Academy

We aim to provide children with an integrated programme of learning letters and sounds through speaking and listening, reading and writing.

The teaching of phonics is based upon Foundation Stage Curriculum guidance in ‘Letters and Sounds’.  We also utilise online resources from ‘Phonics Play’, ‘Phonics Play Comics’, ‘Success for All’ and a variety of teaching and learning apps.

We have altered the order of the phases to help our children to reinforce their learning consistently.  At Devonshire Primary Academy we adhere to the following order of teaching:

  • Phonic 1 – as Letters and Sounds
  • Phonic 2 – all 26 sounds of the alphabet + sh / ch / th / th.
  • Phonic 3/4 – Letters and Sounds Phase 3 [vowel digraphs] and 4 mixed together
  • Phonic 5 – Year 1/2



In the Autumn term children are taught Phonic 2 as a whole class.  At the start of the Spring term the children work in small groups according to the ability they have shown in whole class sessions.  This continues for the rest of the academic year, with children moving groups when they are ready to move on to new phonic phases.

Year One and Year Two

Children work in specific phonic phase groups according to their phonic knowledge and application.  Any child showing the need to work at a higher level than their year group will be accommodated in the next year group or provided with differentiated plans for additional adults to deliver.  Any children working at a lower level will work 1:1 with SSAs or do phonics with a corresponding group in a different year.

Year Three, Four, Five and Six

Children are taught as a whole class using the National Curriculum for Spelling.  Children who need to recap learning from previous phonic phases will be taught in smaller groups or in a different year group as appropriate.